Vegan sensations

In a Greek family, it’s almost unheard of for one to become vegetarian. This line from “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” rings very true to me.

75adcb1eaea8c41a4f74c2ce1b29e9b79c56a9e8122cc5af3c94d2c7b495bf8a

However, ten years ago my sister decided to become Vegetarian. I must admit, it rocked our family. But we didn’t know what was coming! At the end of last year, my sister announced she was now Vegan!!! The Greeks in our family couldn’t believe it.

I have gone through all the stages of grief. Anger, sadness, denial and now, finally acceptance. So, Yesterday I sat down with pen and paper and wrote down recipes for vegan food. For dinner I made ‘Vegan: Summer Pepper Salad.’ It was surprisingly nice, So I thought i’d share the recipe with you.

FullSizeRender

Ingredients:

– 2 tbsp olive oil

– 1 red, orange and yellow bell pepper, halved, deseeded and sliced

– 240g black Kalamata olives

– 1 cloves crushed garlic

– 1 chilli halved, deseeded and chopped

– 2 tbsp freshly chopped parsley

Instructions:

1: Preheat oven to 220ΒΊC

2: Put the olive oil in a roasting tin with the peppers and stir to coat the peppers

3: Roast in oven for 20-25 minutes

4: Spoon into serving dish with the juices from the tun. Stir in olives, garlic, chill and parsley. Leave to cool

Leave a Reply

