Meatless Monday

aEWxPevlRuaHA5NKF3lS_meatlessmondaylogo2-copy

I read recently, (and I can’t remember where) that Australians should have a day a week where they don’t it meat. It’s a holistic idea that encourages people to think about the environmental effects of eating so much meet and the consequences on our health.

The reality is, we eat three times as much meat as the world average. In addition, meat production uses a huge amount of resources. So much in fact, that leading world scientists have called on wealthy nations to halve their meat intake in order to reduce the negative impact on the planet. And, meat is comparatively more expensive then vegetables too!

I know what you’re thinking, and don’t worry, I thought it too! I was hesitant to do this. I like my red meat and IΒ only know 1 good vegetarian recipe! That was until I looked into it. Simply by ‘googling’ “Vegetarian dinners” hundreds if not thousands of recipes came up.

I think its a worth while course. It will be good for us, the environment and our wallets!

So i’ve decided to do ‘Meatless Mondays.’ Every monday I won’t eat meat. I’ll blog about it and share recipes with you.

Will you join me?

3 thoughts on “Meatless Monday

  1. Ashley (escapebybeauty)

    Have you watched Cowspiracy: the Sustainability Secret? If you haven’t, it’s so interesting and taught me a lot! It addresses meatless Monday type diets. It costs 10$ to download but it’s soooo worth it! just google their webpage πŸ™‚ I’ve watched it three times with various people lol.

  2. dankeeling1

    Reblogged this on Mind the Gap and commented:
    The meat industry is very damaging to the environment. Meatless Monday is a great idea. Or, even better, extend it right through to Sunday and cut meat out of your diet altogether!

  3. Pingback: Cauliflower coconut curry // Vegan dinners on a student budget | Spice And Petal

Leave a Reply

